Topic 6

Topic 6: Final Reflections

What have I learnt?

Over the course of the module I have engaged in many different areas of the digital world. The following video summarizes the key points I have picked up from each topic.

Figure 1: Self made summary video using Stupeflix.
Photo credits: http://groovyman.com/2016/11/23/how-is-identity-shaped/https://www.hallaminternet.com/how-to-display-your-wordpress-blog-posts-on-linked-in/https://www.hsj.co.uk/topics/technology-and-innovation/social-media-protecting-patient-confidentiality/5061216.articlehttp://runawaytrader.com/?p=2972

As you can see from figure 1, a wide range of topics have been covered, and these topics have then gone to shape my online identity. This has included finding out about my place within the online community, discovering that I may have more than one online identity emerging , finding out about how the internet is used for recruitment, discussing ethical implications about what we post online, and looking into the world of open access. These posts, with the comments, reflections and case studies such as the Justine Sacco case, amongst others, show how important it is to think before you post, and remember that the world is watching you, both in your personal and professional lives.

Where has this Module Taken me?

Since beginning the module I have been on a tour around different topics as seen in figure 1. Figure 2 however, shows the personal journey that I have undergone whilst being on the course, in terms of the different parts of the digital world that I have been using for the first time.

Make Up Shop Order Process Timeline Infographic.png

Figure 2: Infographic Created Using Canva.

As you can tell from figure 2, I was a novice when it came to the world of blogging, having never created my own blog, images or videos. Being a part of this course is something that has changed this, and definitely shaped my online identity for the better. Before I had an online presence just on social media such as Facebook and Twitter, however now through WordPress, a whole new professional online identity is beginning to be formed, and I am creating new media that I had never imagined I would be able to.

Differences Before and After Completing the Course

At the beginning of the course we were asked to complete a self-test so that we could see where we thought we were currently in terms of our online proficiency. Then, this weekend after posting my reflection from Topic 5 I carried out the self-test once again, and the results can be seen in figure 3. The test was carried out on a sliding scale from 1-5, with 5 being the highest score we could give ourselves.

Figure 3: Self Test Scores Powerpoint.

What’s Next?

Having increased my online presence and capabilities significantly, I have no plans in the near future to stop this, as I know I still have a long way to go! After graduating, I intend to begin travelling and bogging about my experiences in order to expand the range of topics that I am writing about. In order to do this I have been looking at examples of existing blogs such as Kate’s and The Blonde Abroad, and guides that have been written to make the most of my blog. After this, and I have returned to the UK, I intend to set up a LinkedIn account in order to forge links with other professionals in the hope at securing employment.

Word Count: 494

Image Credits

Figure 1

http://groovyman.com/2016/11/23/how-is-identity-shaped/

https://www.hallaminternet.com/how-to-display-your-wordpress-blog-posts-on-linked-in/

https://www.hsj.co.uk/topics/technology-and-innovation/social-media-protecting-patient-confidentiality/5061216.article

http://runawaytrader.com/?p=2972

Figure Creation Sources

Figure 1

Stupeflix

Figre 2

Canva

Figure 3

Microsoft PowerPoint

Blog Posts

Rebecca Knightsbridge (2017) Topic 1: Digital Residents and Visitors

Rebecca Knightsbridge (2017) Topic 2: Online Identity

Rebecca Knightsbridge (2017) Topic 3: Building an Authentic Professional Digital Profile

Rebecca Knightsbridge (2017) Topic 4: Ethical Issues of Social Media- Confidentiality and Professionals

Rebecca Knightsbridge (2017) Topic 5: What are the advantages and disadvantages to a content producer of making their materials freely available online?Topic 5: What are the advantages and disadvantages to a content producer of making their materials freely available online?

Other Blogs

Adventurous Kate

The Blonde Abroad

Expert Vagabond

Online Information

Ronson, J. (2015) How One Stupid Tweet Blew Up Justine Sacco’s Life. The New York Times Magazine.

11 Tweets That Got People Fired From Their Jobs. emgn.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

